The creation of the Eve lithograph

by Basmanstudio

Meprint1

After printing my latest lithograph of Eve in black and white, which took most of the day, I decided on adding color to a few of the editions. It is my first experiment using a pronto plate, which, unlike a litho stone, is much easier to manage and faster to prepare. After placing and mixing the beautiful strong colors on glass, I was ready to print.

Meprint2

What I was after, was to make subtle colors in details such as the eyes of Eve, the snake, and the apple. Its a process that takes steady hands, and I found myself holding my breath and wishing I drank less coffee that morning. Luckily my amazing teacher Tomomi was there, offering me assistance and encouragement, and perhaps hoping I don’t break the press.

Meprint3

The soft color brown on the eyes of Eve.

Myprint5

Slight colors in the apple.

This is the first step in my use of color on my latest lithograph. I am going to see how far I can go. The colors you can achieve in lithography are very rich and the result could be vibrant and alive.  It is a process that takes much patience. The end result can, and usually is, really rewarding.